In the state of Tennessee, everyone that is taking part in dealing manufactured homes is required to be licensed. If you don’t have a license and are dealing homes you could be fined $1,000 per home you have sold. So instead of taking your chances use this simple walk-through to get your license.
How to get a Tennessee Manufactured Homes Dealer License
Step #1: Complete application
You can find the application for your license online at the Tenessee Department of Commerce and Insurance Website.
Step #2: Complete other requirements
- Include $40 application fee – check or money order (cash is not accepted)
- Complete 15 hours of education and pass an exam
For information on approved education courses, contact the Commissioner at firstname.lastname@example.org
Step #3: Purchase surety bond
You must submit a Tennessee Manufactured Homes Dealer surety bond with your application. You can purchase a surety bond from a surety bond company (like us!).
This surety bond protects your clients shows you will provide ethical services with the sale of mobile homes, with client’s money, and with sensitive information. Should anything unethical happen, your clients are protected by the bond. If your clients feel you are not ethically conducting business, they can make a claim against your bond.
The bond amount is set at $25,000.
You will not need to pay $25,000 to get bonded. You will pay anywhere from 1-15% of that amount ($250 – $3,750).
To see what you’d pay for a bond, get a free quote below:
Once you purchase your surety bond, it will be mailed to you.
Step #4: Submit paperwork
Submit your license application and all paperwork in Step #2, plus your original surety bond to the address below:
State of Tennessee
Department of Commerce and Insurance
State Fire Marshall’s Office
Manufactured Housing Section
500 James Robertson Parkway
Davy Crockett Tower, Tenth Floor
Nashville, TN 37243-1162
Your license will be approved or rejected by the Department. Your $40 licensing fee is nonrefundable.
License Expiration and Renewal
All Tennessee Manufactured Homes Dealer Licenses expire each year. If you fail to renew your license prior to expiration (but within 90 days past expiration), a $50 penalty fee will be issued, along with the renewal fee.
If you fail to renew your license past 90 days after expiration, you will need to submit a new application and be approved again for your license.
To renew your license, you will also need to complete 5 hours of continuing education requirements.
Helpful Links – courtesy of the TN Department of Commerce and Insurance: