how to become a boxing promoter in oregon

Being a promoter for boxing or other combat sports can be an exciting and lucrative endeavor, but before you start promoting fights in Oregon you will need to get an Oregon Boxing Promoter License to do so.  

A promoter is anyone licensed by the superintendent to arrange or host a boxing, wrestling, or MMA match and is legally responsible for the match.  A person cannot be licensed as a promoter for such an event and also be licensed as either a manager or a contestant for a combat sport. 

Application Requirements

To start the process of becoming a promoter the state of Oregon requires that you set up a preliminary consultation with the Athletic Commission.  After your meeting, you will need to download and complete the application for your Oregon State Athletic Commission Promoter License.

As part of your packet you will need to include copies of fingerprints and passport sized photos of yourself.  You will also need to provide proof of credit history, and history in involvement of combat sports.

Another section of your packet will need to include proof that the venue in which you plan to host events in up to fire and safety codes.


You will need to pay a fee of $100 per city you plan to host an event in or you can pay $1,000 to cover events that take place throughout the state.

Surety Bond

In addition to your application packet you will need to acquire an Oregon Athletic Commission Promoter Bond. A Promoter Bond ensures proper payment for damages, penalties, taxes, or expenses incurred during any promotional activities necessary for the proper functioning of any public or private boxing, wresting, or mixed martial arts competition.

Of course, this bond comes with strings attached. The promoter (or the individual purchasing the bond) and all of the promoter’s agents and employees have to perform and abide by all the obligations and rules of the Boxing and Wrestling Program. The Promoter Bond helps ensure that the promoter complies with all rules, regulations, and laws when performing in the state of Oregon. In this sense, a Promoter’s Bond can be understood as a type of performance bond.

As is the case with all surety bonds, pricing is based on the applicant’s personal credit history and financial records. Sports promoters with excellent credit can expect to pay 1 to 3% of the total bond amount. In Oregon, the total bond amount is $10,000 so if you have excellent credit, and you get approved at a rate of 1%, you might only pay $100 a year in premium for your Promoter’s Bond.

Get free Promoter Bond Quotes!

By applying, using the button above, you can receive customized, no obligation Oregon Promoter Bond quotes in minutes. Because these bonds are instant issue, so long as you do not have a prior bankruptcy or felony conviction, you can get your Promoter Bond instantly the same day you apply.

When your application packet is complete, it can be sent in to:

Oregon Athletic Commission

4190 Aumsville Highway SE

Salem, OR 97317

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Back To Top