If you are planning on starting your own winery in Oregon, you are going to need to get licensed. This guide explains the steps need to get an Oregon Winery License.
For resources on establishing a vineyard, water and land use, economics, and more please view the following resources:
- Resources – Water/Land Use, Soil, Etc
- Quick Start Resource Guide – Establishing a Vineyard in Oregon
If you are taking over a winery that already has a license, you may be able to simply get a 90-Day Temporary Authority to Operate.
How to get an Oregon Winery License
Step #1: Determine what kind of license you need
View list of license types and license privileges.
The following steps are for an Oregon Winery License (WY and WYNC).
Step #2: Complete pre-application requirements
Pre-application requirements include:
- Contact the Federal Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau to determine what you need to do to comply with Federal laws.
- Have a proper address in Oregon where you will conduct business.
- Currently own, lease, or rent the business property OR be in the process of purchasing, leasing, or renting a property.
- Determine what kind of business structure your winery will be.
- If you will offer lottery games on site, contact the Oregon Lottery Commission.
- If you will make, warehouse, or sell at retail beer or wine for drinking on site, the Oregon Department of Agriculture’s Food Safety Division may require a license.
Step #3: Complete license application
Your application packet will need to include the following forms to be complete:
- Liquor License Application
- Individual History
- Business Information
- Statement of Funding
- Floor Plan
- Winery and Grower Sales Privilege Federal Qualifications
- Alcohol Server Education Liquor Liability Insurance Exemption Request (If you will not have on-site consumption of alcohol, including tastings)
Step #4: Purchase an Oregon Winery Bond
You may be exempt from this bond if you meet the exemption requirements.
Otherwise, the Commission will determine your bond amount.
The price you’ll pay for your bond will be dependent on your personal credit score.
- Those with good credit can expect to pay 1-3% of the total bond amount set by Commission.
- Those with bad credit can expect to pay 4-15% of the total bond amount set by Commission.
To see what you’d pay for a bond, get a free quote below.
Winery Bond Quotes
The purpose of an Oregon Winery Bond is to ensure you pay taxes and fees on wine. If you don’t, the state can make a claim against your bond.
Step #5: Submit paperwork
Submit the above paperwork to the OLCC office that covers the city or county where your winery will be located.
Do not include a license fee when you submit.
Eventually, a $250 license fee will be required to secure your license. There is an additional $2.60 fee if you will be allowing on-site consumption of wine.
Step #6: Wait for approval
The OLCC office for your city/county will work on determining your approval. Once approved, you will receive documents to take to your local government.
Make sure to complete the required testing if you are required to do so.
Contact the OLCC office that covers the city or county that you wish to be licensed in.