Thinking of becoming licensed as a real estate broker in the state of West Virginia? The West Virginia Real Estate Commission handles the licensing process, and these are the requirements you must meet to get licensed.
How to get a West Virginia Real Estate Broker License
Step #1: Meet Initial Requirements
- Minimum 18 years of age
- High school graduate or GED
- 90 clock hours (6 credits) of Commission Approved real estate courses, if you are currently licensed as a salesperson
- OR 180 clock hours (12 credits) if you are not currently licensed as a salesperson
- Minimum 2 years experience as a salesperson
In order for the Commission to rule on your experience, you must supply listing, sales, and property management information for a period covering the current calendar year and the previous two calendar years.
Check out the pre-license education course outlines: Real Estate Broker Pre-Licensing Education
Submit the experience requirements on the following form: Listing Information
Note that Attorneys at Law do not need to show proof of education or fulfill the experience requirement. However, attorneys must submit a Certificate of Good Standing from the West Virginia State Bar and file the certificate with their application (Step #2).
Step #2: Complete West Virginia Broker License Application
View Application for License as a Real Estate Broker
Step #3: Provide Broker’s Affidavit on Salesperson’s Training Form
This form must be provided from all brokers from which you have been licensed as a salesperson.
Step #4: Make appointment for criminal background check
Step #5: Submit paperwork and $25 fee
Submit your West Virginia Real Estate License Application and the above forms to the West Virginia Real Estate Commission, along with a $25 fee.
The West Virginia Real Estate Commission will evaluate your documents and make sure your application is complete.
Upon approval, you will be notified when and where to appear for your examination. You must pass the examination (by receiving an earned grade of A, B, or C in each subject area) to receive your license. Once you complete and pass your exam, the approved provider with give you a certificate of course completion.
Step #6: Submit West Virginia Real Estate Broker Bond
Once you pass your examination, your last step is to furnish a West Virginia Real Estate Broker Bond in the amount of $2,000.
A West Virginia Real Estate Broker Bond is a type of surety bond that promises your customers you will conduct business according to state and federal rules and regulations. If you fail to conduct business ethically, someone can make a claim against your bond.
The bond amount is set at $2,000.
You do not have to pay the full bond amount to get bonded.
The best way to see what you’d pay for your bond is to get a free quote:
Get a free Real Estate Broker Bond quote
The Commission will need your original bond before you can be issued a West Virginia Real Estate Broker License.
If you have questions about getting licensed, contact the Commission.
West Virginia Real Estate Commission Licensing Page
Criminal Background Check Requirement