Any individual can legally sell up to 5 vehicles a year in New Hampshire, as long as those vehicles are titled in your name and used primarily for personal, family, or household use.
If you wish to flip vehicles for a profit in New Hampshire, you will need to get a New Hampshire Dealer License.
Not sure if you need to get licensed? Check out this post on selling cars without a license.
How to get a New Hampshire Car Dealer License
Step #1: Establish a Place of Business
Your dealership location must meet the following requirements:
- Have at least 750 square feet dedicated to selling vehicles
- Have a business sign on a public street with 10 inch letters
- Have a permanent heating system
For more information on what classifies a place as an ‘established place of business’ view the NH State Code.
Step #2: Complete New Hampshire Retail Vehicle License Application
A $125 application fee is due with submission.
Step #3: Complete Other Paperwork
- Service Agreement with an approved New Hampshire Inspection Station, if your dealership does not have its own
- Criminal Background Check
Worried about a previous felony on your record? Check out this post on “Getting a Dealer License with a Felony”
Step #4: Purchase New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond
A New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond is a type of surety bond that promises you will follow all rules and regulations. If you fail to follow rules and regulations, someone can make a claim against your bond.
Not sure how to get an Auto Dealer Bond? Use this interactive tool to help you out.
The bond amount is set at $25,000.
The price you pay will be anywhere from 0.75% – 15% of the total bond amount.
Dealers with good credit might only need to pay $187 for their bond.
Your payment is a one time payment, not a monthly payment.
The best way to see what you’d pay is to get a free quote:
Step #5: Submit Paperwork
Mail your New Hampshire Dealer License application and original bond to the address below:
Department of Safety
New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
Step #6: Pass Inspection
Once your license application has been processed, an inspector from the Bureau of Registration will come and inspect your dealership location.
You must pass this inspection before you can be issued a New Hampshire Dealer License.
If your dealership location is approved, you will be mailed your New Hampshire Dealer License.
For more information on how to get licensed, view the Retail Vehicle Dealer Information Page.
Getting Dealer Plates
The last step to consider is if you want to purchase dealer plates. Dealer plates are special plates that allow your vehicles to be driven away from you lot legally. If you are going to allow your customers to test-drive your vehicles, you will want to get dealer plates.
Before issuing your dealer plates, the state will perform a site review. The state will take several factors into account when determining how many dealer plates to issue you. Generally, the number of plates you get is dependent on how many vehicles you sell.
For more information on how and when dealer plates can be used, visit the New Hampshire Retail Vehicle Dealer page.
License Expiration and Renewal
New Hampshire Dealer Licenses expire on March 31 of every year. All dealers are responsible to renew their license before it expires to remain in compliance with the law.
For more information on how to renew your license, contact the New Hampshire Dealer and Inspection Desk at (603) 227-4020