If you plan on selling motor vehicles through auctions in the state of Nebraska, you must get a Nebraska Auction Dealer License. All Nebraska Dealer Licenses are issued by the Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board.
This article is for auction dealers. If you wish to be any other licensed dealer in Nebraska, view our other post “How to get a Nebraska Dealer License”
To apply for a Nebraska Auction Dealer License, complete the following 4 steps:
How to get a Nebraska Auction Dealer License
Step #1: Complete the Nebraska Auction Dealer License Application
Instructions for how to complete application.
Step #2: Purchase a Nebraska Auction Dealer Bond
You will need to apply for and secure a Nebraska Auction Dealer Bond before you can be issued a license.
Here is a copy of the Nebraska Auction Dealer Bond form. This is just for viewing. You must apply for the real bond below.
The bond amount is set at $100,000.
The price you pay will be anywhere from 1-15% of the total bond amount ($1,000 – $15,000). This would be a one-time payment, not a monthly payment.
See how much you’d pay for your bond. Get a free quote.
Get a free quote for your bond by clicking below.
Get my free Nebraska Auction Dealer quote!
Why Do You Need a Nebraska Auction Dealer Bond?
A Nebraska Auction Dealer Bond is a type of surety bond that protects your clients from acts such as: failure to deliver a valid title, selling stolen vehicles, failure to follow auction house rules, or any attempts to deceive or misrepresent proper facts about the vehicle.
If you do any of the above, someone can make a claim against your bond.
A Nebraska Auction Dealer Bond is a requirement by law before you can be issued a license.
Not sure how to get an Auto Dealer Bond? Use this interactive tool to help you out.
Step #3: Mail the Application and Bond
Mail your original bond and Nebraska Auction Dealer License Application to the Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board. Their address is:
Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board
301 Centennial Mall South
P. O. Box 94697
Lincoln, NE 68509
For questions about the application process, call the Nebraska Motor Vehicle Licensing Board at: 402-471-2148
Then, all that is left to do is wait for the Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board to make a decision.
Step #4: Application Fees
The $225 fee will not be collected until after your auction dealership has been approved by the Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board.
Please send either a cashier’s check or money order to the Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board upon dealership approval.
View our FREE EBOOK: “The Ultimate Guide To Car Dealer Licensing”
How Much Does An Auto Dealer Bond Cost?