Are you ready to be a motor vehicle dealer in Maine? The Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) handles all auto dealer license requests.
You are legally allowed to sell up to 5 vehicles in a calendar year as long as those vehicles are titled in your name and used primarily for personal, family, or household use. It is illegal to flip any car for a profit that is not registered in your name.
Not sure if you need to get licensed? Check out this post on selling cars without a license.
How to get a Maine Dealer License
Step #1: Complete Maine Dealer License Application
With your Maine Dealer License Application, you will need to provide:
- Lease Form – if building is not owned (View Sample Lease Form)
- Plot plan
- Land Use and Zoning Form (must be notarized)
- Applicant Questionnaire (must be notarized)
- Pass background check – apply for a background check
Worried about a previous felony on your record? Check out this post “Getting a Dealer License with a Felony”
Step #2: Mail Application
Plus any other forms to the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Dealer and Agenct Services, 29 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0029
Include a $150 filing fee. This fee is nonrefundable, even if your application is denied.
Step #3: Pass inspection
Once your Maine Motor Vehicle Dealer License Application is received, the BMV will send an inspector to conduct an on-site investigation of your business location.
You will be notified in advance as to when the inspection will take place.
You can fail the inspection for any of the following reasons:
- Misstatement on the application for license
- Failure to comply with the requirements to obtain or maintain the license
- Failure to have an established place of business
- Not notifying the state 30 days prior to moving locations
- Not maintaining a surety bond or liability insurance
- Defrauding a customer
- Conviction of any fraudulent act connected with the dealer business
- Violating the Maine Unfair Trade Practices Act
- Submitting a check that is dishonored or refused
- Failure to appear at a hearing
If you pass the inspection, you will have to pay another $150 fee for each type of vehicle you are selling (cars, motorcycles, quads, etc).
Step #4: Purchase a Maine Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond
Before you can be fully issued a license, you will need to purchase a Maine Dealer Bond.
A Maine Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond (also known as a car dealer bond or auto dealer bond) is a type of surety bond that guarantees you will deal vehicles ethically and honestly. If you fail to do so, someone can make a claim against your bond.
Not sure how to get a Maine Auto Dealer Bond? Use this interactive tool to help you out.
The bond amount is dependent on the number of vehicles you plan to sell:
- Under 50 vehicles/year: $5,000 bond*
- 51-100 vehicles/year: $10,000 bond*
- 101-150 vehicles/year: $15,000 bond*
- 151-200 vehicles /year: $20,000 bond*
- 201 vehicles or more /year: $20,000 bond*
You do not have to pay the full bond amount to get bonded. You will pay anywhere from 1-15% of the total bond amount. The price you pay is a one-time payment, not a monthly payment.
The best way to see what you’d pay for your Maine Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond is to get a free quote below:
Step #5: Submit
Submit your original Maine Dealer Bond to the BMV. You will also need to purchase garage liability insurance before you can be issued a license.
You may contact the BMV Dealer Section with questions or comments at: (207) 624-9000 ext. 52143 or by Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
License Expiration and Renewal
Maine Motor Vehicle Dealer Licenses expire on the last day of the month, one year from the date of issuance.
Fees for renewing your license are the same as getting your license for the first time. Fees for new, used, salvage, wholesale, and auction motor vehicle dealer are all $150.
Fees must be paid each calendar year you are in business.