There are various different license Maryland Dealer License types. All licenses are regulated by the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration.
The most popular license types are used vehicle dealers, new vehicle dealers, and wholesale dealers.
Not sure if you need a dealer license? Check out this post on selling cars without a license.
How to get a Maryland Car Dealer License
Step #1: Determine what kind of license you need
View Types of Maryland Dealer Licenses.
Step #2: Get business location inspected
An investigator needs to inspect your place of business before you can get licensed.
To schedule your site inspection, contact MVA Investigation Division at 410-768-7216.
Site inspection information is in the application packet (Step #3).
Upon completion of your inspection, the inspector will initial your application.
Step #3: Complete a Maryland Car Dealer License Application
Download the Maryland Car Dealer License Application packet.
All forms required for licensure are in the license application packet.
The application does require a background check.
Worried about a previous felony? Check out this post on Getting a Dealer License With a Felony.
Step #4: Sign up for dealer orientation class
Before a license can be issued, you must attend dealer orientation. The request form is in the application packet.
The orientation is held monthly from 9:00 AM – 12:00 noon.
Return the form by fax to 410-768-7602 or mail your request to the address below. Upon receiving your orientation request, you will be scheduled for the next orientation.
6601 Ritchie Highway, N.E.
Glen Burnie, MD 21062
Step #5: Purchase a Maryland Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond
Not sure how to get an Auto Dealer Bond? Use this interactive tool to help you out.
Be sure to apply for the correct bond amount. (See below)
Free Maryland Car Dealer Bond Quotes
About the Maryland Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond
A Maryland Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond is a type of surety bond that guarantees you will act in accordance with the law. The bond protects your customers. If you fail to follow the law, someone can make a claim against your bond.
Be sure to apply for the correct bond amount.
Your bond amount is based off the type and number of vehicles you plan to sell in a year.
You will pay a percentage of the total bond amount. Those with good credit can secure their Maryland Car Dealer Bond at a 1-4% rate. Your payment will be a one time payment, not a monthly payment.
Bond amounts for new car dealers:
- 1-500 vehicles: $50,000 bond
- 501-1,000 vehicles: $75,000 bond
- 1,001-2,500 vehicles: $100,000 bond
- Over 2,500 vehicles: $300,000 bond
Bond amounts for used car dealers:
- 1-250 vehicles: $15,000 bond
- 251-500 vehicles: $25,000 bond
- 501-1,000 vehicles: $35,000 bond
- 1,001-2,500 vehicles: $50,000 bond
- Over 2,500 vehicles: $150,000 bond
See what you’d pay for a Maryland Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond. Get a free quote.
Step #6: Mail paperwork
Send your Maryland Car Dealer Application packet and original bond to the address below:
MVA, BL&CS, Room 146
6601 Ritchie Highway
Glen Burnie, MD 21062
You will receive a response letting you know the verdict of your application. Incomplete applications will not be accepted.
Before you can be issued a Maryland Dealer License, you will need to pay licensing fees.
View our FREE EBOOK: “The Ultimate Guide To Car Dealer Licensing”
How To Get An Auto Dealer Bond
How Much Does An Auto Dealer Surety Bond Cost?