The state of Montana requires you to get a Montana Dealer License if you plan to sell new or used vehicles that are not registered in your name.
Not sure if you need a dealer license? Check out this post on selling cars without a license.
How to get a Montana Dealer License
Step #1: Determine what kind of license you need
- Franchise Dealer
- Used Dealer
- Wholesale Dealer
- Auto Auction Dealer
- Broker Dealer
- New Manufactured Home Dealer
For a list of license type descriptions, view the Montana Dealer License Application starting on Page 2.
Step #2: Complete Montana Car Dealer License Application
Step #3: Purchase Montana Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond
A Montana Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond is a type of surety bond that protects your customers. If you fail to follow rules and regulations of the industry, someone can make a claim against your bond.
Not sure how to get a Montana Auto Dealer Bond? Use this interactive tool to help you out.
In Montana, dealer bond amounts are dependent on the type of vehicles you will be selling:
New or used vehicles: $50,000 bond
Street-legal motorcycle or quadricycle: $15,000 bond
Snowmobile, non-street legal motorcycle or quadricycle: $5,000 bond
Boats: $5,000 bond
You do not need to pay the full bond amount to get bonded.
The price you pay for your bond will be anywhere between 1-15% of the bond amount. This is a one time payment, not a monthly payment.
Montana Dealer Bond Quotes
(New & Used Vehicles)
Get a quote for Motorcycle Dealer
Get a quote for Motorboat/Snowmobile Dealer
Step #4: Complete remaining license forms
Beside the Montana Dealer License Application, you will need to complete the rest of the withstanding Montana MVD forms and paperwork.
This consists of a motor vehicle dealer plate order form, evidence of compliance with city requirements, general liability insurance, etc.
You can view the complete list of required documents online.
Step #5: Get business location inspected
After you have completed your paperwork, contact the Montana Highway Patrol, compliance officer, or local law enforcement agency.
Have them complete the inspection for your dealership location.
Step #6: Submit
Submit paperwork and fees. Fees are listed on the license application form and range from $30 – $500.
- Dealer plates are $35 each.
- Demonstrator plates (for wholesale dealers and auto auctions) are $15 each.
Submit your paperwork to the address below:
Title and Registration Bureau
Motor Vehicle Division
1003 Buckskin Dr
Deer Lodge, Montana 59722
Dealer licenses will not be issued at the Title and Registration Bureau counter the same day you apply. If your paperwork is approved, you will receive your Montana Dealer License and plates in the mail in approximately 2-3 weeks.
License Expiration and Renewal
Montana Dealer Licenses are valid for one year. Licenses expire on December 31st of each year.
Franchised, used, wholesale, auto auction, and broker dealers must submit an Annual Report before license expiration. Along with your Annual Report, you must include the required renewal fees (below) and a Continuation Certificate for your Montana Dealer Bond.
If you fail to do the above, law enforcement will be notified and come to your place of business to pick up your dealer plates and hand permits.
- Franchise Dealer – $30
- Used Dealer -$30
- Wholesale Dealer – $30
- Auto Auction Dealer – $100
- Broker Dealer – $30
- New Manufactured Home Dealer – $0
View our FREE EBOOK: “The Ultimate Guide To Car Dealer Licensing”
Motor Vehicle Dealer License FAQ