There are six Florida license types. All vehicle dealer licenses are administered and regulated through the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
There are two license types for recreational vehicle dealers. They are:
- New Recreational Vehicle Dealer License (RV): allows the dealer to sell new and used recreational vehicles.
- Used Recreational Vehicle Dealer License (RU): allows the dealer to sell only new recreational vehicles.
For a full list of dealer license types, view the Florida Recreational Dealer Handbook.
How to get a Florida Recreational Vehicle Dealer License
Before entering the business of selling motor vehicles, you must have a dealership site approved by a Division of Motorist Services Regional Office.
Address and contact information here.
Upon approval of the site by the Regional Office Compliance Examiner/Officer, you will be eligible to move forward.
Step #1: Complete Application for Recreational Vehicle Dealer
View Recreational Vehicle Dealer License application.
Step #2: Purchase a $10,000 Florida Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond
A Florida Recreational Dealer Bond is a type of surety bond.
You will not have to pay $10,000 for your bond.
You will pay somewhere between 1-15% of the total bond amount, so $100 – $1,750.
The best way to see what you would pay for your Florida Recreational Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond is to get a free quote:
Get a free Florida Dealer Bond quote
Step #3: Provide Other Paperwork
- Copy of garage liability insurance
- Copy of lease or proof of ownership
- Copy of business registration
- Copy of corporate papers/articles of incorporation
- Sales tax number
- Federal Employer Identification number
For a complete list of requirements, view the General Requirements List.
Step #4: Take Dealer Training Course
This class is a requirement before you can get your Florida Recreational Dealer License. It is offered by the following dealer training schools:
- Advanced Dealer Training Institute
Telephone: 561-791-9511 and 1-888-791-9511
Email Address: email@example.com
- Automotive Industry Center for Excellence, LLC., (AICE)
Telephone Registration: 1-866-930-4577
E-mail address: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Florida Auto Dealer School
E-mail address: email@example.com
Step #5: Take Fingerprints
Worried about a previous felony or conviction? Check out this post on “Getting a Dealer License with a Felony”
Fingerprints cost $54.25 per person.
Step #6: Pay Licensing Fees
Make out a check payable to the DHSMV in the amount of $340
The $340 fee is for application fee ($300) and annual fee ($40) to the Mobile Home and Recreational Vehicle Trust Fund.
Step #7: Submit
Mail all paperwork listed on the Florida Dealer License Application, plus fees and your original surety bond to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
Upon approval, you’ll receive your newly issued Florida Recreational Dealer License in the mail within a month.
For more information on how to get a Florida Dealer License, view Florida’s license requirements and steps.
All Florida Recreational Dealer Licenses are only valid for a maximum period of one year. The period runs from October 1-September 30th every year.
If you get approved for a license near the end of the license period, it will still expire on September 30th.
This expiration date should not be confused with the expiration date for other Florida Dealer Licenses. Used motor vehicle dealer licenses expire on April 30th, franchise vehicle dealer license expire on December 30th.
Additional Registration Help
- Check out the Florida Recreational Dealer License Handbook
View our FREE EBOOK: “The Ultimate Guide To Car Dealer Licensing”
How To Get a Florida Used Car Dealer License