Before you can open your business doors in the state of Utah, you’ll need to get a Utah Car Dealer License. Here are the steps you need to take to get licensed:
Not sure if you need a dealer license? Check out this post on selling cars without a license.
How to get a Utah Car Dealer License
Step #1: Complete Utah Car Dealer License Application
There are different Utah Dealer Licenses. Be sure to apply for the correct license type.
Step #2: Complete an FBI Fingerprint Card
Include a Fingerprint Waiver with your fingerprint card. The fingerprint card must be filled out completely and signed by both the applicant and the individual doing the printing.
Have a previous felony? Check out this post on Getting a Dealer License With a Felony.
Step #3: Provide Photographs
Provide a passport-style photograph of each owner, partner, corporate office, and member of your dealership.
You must also provide a photo of the dealership location that shows your business sign.
For information on location requirements, view location requirements.
Step #4: Purchase Utah Car Dealer Bond
A Utah Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond is a type of surety bond that protects your customers from fraud or dishonest acts during a business transaction. If you fail to follow the law, someone can make a claim against your bond.
The bond amounts are as follows:
- Motor Vehicle Dealer: $75,000
- ATV/Snowmobile/Motorcycle/Small Trailer: $10,000
You will pay anywhere from 1-15% of the bond amount. This is a one time payment, not monthly.
The best way to see what you would pay is to get a free quote:
Step #5: Secure Sales Tax Number
The Utah State Tax Commission issues sales tax numbers to new dealerships.
To get a sales tax number, submit the Utah State Business and Tax Registration Application to the Utah State Tax Commission at 210 North 1950 West, Salt Lake City, Utah 84134.
Step #6: Attend Training Seminar
Every person involved in your dealership must attend an eight-hour training seminar.
You can register for the class online here or through the following contacts:
Step #7: Pay Licensing Fees
The fees are the same no matter what license you are applying for. You will also need to purchase dealer plates for your vehicles, allowing customers to drive vehicles away from your lot legally.
The fees are as follows:
- Dealer application fee: $51
- Fingerprint card fee: $25 each
- Dealer plates: $12.00 each (plus $2.50 handling fee)
Step #8: Submit Paperwork
Send your entire application package along with original Utah Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond to the address below:
Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84130
Processing & On-Site Location Inspection
Allow up to 10 days for your Utah Dealer License application to be processed. Once your application is processed, the Utah Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division (MVED) will conduct an on-site inspection of your place of business. You must pass this inspection before a Utah Car Dealer License can be issued to you.
For a complete list of dealership location requirements, check out Part 2 of this resource.
Want a complete break down of all the required steps? Check out this resource.
License Expiration and Renewal
All Utah Motor Vehicle Dealer Licenses expire on June 30th. License fees are not prorated.