How To Get A Nevada Escrow License

nevada escrow license

Because of the SAFE Mortgage Licensing Act, any person who is holding escrow as a third party with the intent to complete a transaction of property after a specific event has occurred is required to have an Escrow  License.  

This most often occurs in the case of a home purchase; when a home is to be inspected or a similar requirement is expected before the sale takes place and the purchaser entrusts an escrow agent with the funds for the purchase to be delivered to the seller after the inspection takes place.

If you are looking to become an escrow agent in Nevada, you will first need to get a Nevada Escrow Agent License. 

How to get a Nevada Escrow Agent License

Step #1: Complete License Application

If applying for an initial escrow agent license, complete the Escrow Agent Application and Control Person Individual Form.

If applying for an initial escrow agency license for a principal location and branch location or adding a location to an existing license, use the Escrow Agency Application Company Form.

Step #2: Submit Written Consent

Include with your application written consent authorizing the Commissioner to conduct a background investigation, and if applicable, to obtain:

  • An independent credit report from a consumer reporting agency
  • A criminal history report from the Federal Bureau of Investigation
  • Information related to any administrative, civil, or criminal proceedings

Step #3: Complete 15 Hours of Instruction

If applying for initial license as escrow agent, you must complete at least 15 hours of instruction.

A certificate of completion must be presented with your application.

Step #4:  Purchase Surety Bond in amount of $20,000

A Nevada Escrow Agent Bond is a type of license and permit surety bond required by a state agency or agent for licensure pertaining to escrow activities.

Escrow Bonds protect your clients in case you provide poor advice, make an incorrect or unethical decision, or make in error in your client’s information. If your client suffers financial hardship because of your error, they can make a claim against your surety bond.

See what you’d pay for a bond. Get a free quote.

Get a Nevada Escrow Bond quote

Step #5: Last Requirements

All requirements are listed on the license applications.

Instructions for each application:

Step #6: Pay Licensing Fees

Licensing fees are listed on the Licensing Fee Schedule.

Step #7: Submit

Submit your license application, paperwork, original bond, and fees to the address below:

Division of Mortgage Licensing
1830 College Parkway, Suite 100
Carson City, NV 89706
(775) 684-7060

License Expiration and Renewal

Nevada Escrow Agent and Agency Licenses expire on July 1 of each year.

To renew a license, you must complete a renewal application, complete continued education, pay the annual renewal fee, and submit.

Questions? View the Nevada Escrow Agent and Agencies FAQ

Related links:

Nevada Escrow Agent and Agencies FAQ

Escrow Agency Renewal General Instructions and Checklist 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Back To Top