Did you recently purchase a vehicle, but never received the title? Or did you receive the title, but lost it before transferring it into your name? You aren’t stuck yet. You can get a Utah Bonded Title.
Short on time? Check out our Bonded Title FAQ page.
What is a Utah Bonded Title?
A Utah Bonded Title (also known as a Certificate of Title Surety, Lost Title Bond, or Defective Title Bond) is a document that proves you own your vehicle. A bonded title allows you to buy insurance for your car, register your car, and sell your vehicle.
A bonded title is just like a regular title but it is marked “bonded”, meaning that it has a surety bond attached to it.
When you get a bonded title, you are promising that you are the true owner of the vehicle. If someone comes forward later on and says that they are the owner of the vehicle and that you should not have been granted a bonded title, they can make a claim on your bond. If the claim is determined to be valid, the surety company would pay the person a fair amount. It would then be your responsibility to repay the surety.
When You Need a Utah Bonded Title
- You bought a vehicle and didn’t receive a title
- You bought a vehicle and only received a bill of sale
- You bought a vehicle and received an improperly assigned title
- You bought a vehicle, received, and lost the title*
*You do not need a UT Bonded Title if you had the title at one point and your vehicle was registered in your name. In this instance, you can simply get a duplicate/replacement title. You can apply for a duplicate title with your local DMV.
Not sure if you need a UT Bonded Title? Check out this awesome infographic.
How to get a Utah Bonded Title
Step #1: Contact DMV to make sure you are eligible
Your local DMV is the only entity that can tell you if you are eligible for a bonded title or not.
Contact your local DMV, explain your situation, and ask if you could get a bonded title.
If they say yes, move on to Step #2.
Step #2: Complete an Ownership Statement
An ownership statement explains how came into possession of your vehicle. If you have information on when your vehicle was last registered, you should include this in your statement.
Step #3: Have Your Vehicle Inspected
A vehicle inspection ensures that your vehicle is not stolen. Have your vehicle inspection completed by a Certifed Safety/Emission Station Inspector at your local DMV or by a Utah Law Enforcement Officer.
Step #4: Take Photographs
You will need to provide the DMV with photographs of your vehicle, inside and out, showing the condition your vehicle is in.
Step #5: Purchase a Utah Certificate of Title Bond
Purchase a bond from a surety bond company. Make sure you apply for the correct bond amount.
Utah has set the Utah Lost Title Bond amount at 2 times the value of your vehicle. For example, if your vehicle is appraised at $3,000 then you will need to get a $6,000 Utah Lost Title Bond.
You will not pay the full bond amount. You will just pay a small portion of it. If your car is less than $6,600 then you can get bonded for about $100.
Surety Solutions, A Gallagher Company does not issue Certificate of Lost Title Bonds
Before you purchase your title bond – learn important payment info
Step #6: Submit Paperwork
Mail your proof of Utah Lost Title Bond, plus Application for a Utah Vehicle Title to the address below:
Salt Lake City, UT 84134
Step #7: Wait
Upon approval of your paperwork, you will be mailed your Utah Bonded Title.
Does My Utah Bonded Title Expire?
Yes, Utah Bonded Titles are valid for 3 years. If no one comes forward during that time period and makes a claim against your Utah Lost Title Bond, then you will be issued a standard certificate of title.