Any person engaged in the business of selling or exchanging 3 or more vehicles in Wyoming in a 12-month period must get a Wyoming Vehicle Dealer License. Here are the steps you need to take to get licensed.
Short on time? Check out our Car Dealer Licensing FAQ.
Not sure if you need to get licensed? Check out this post on selling cars without a license.
How to get a Wyoming Dealer License
Step #1: Complete Wyoming Vehicle Dealer Application
Complete the Wyoming Dealer License Application.
If you are planning on selling new vehicles, you must complete the new vehicle information section at the bottom of page 3, and include copies of franchise papers or dealer sales and service agreements for all new vehicles you will be selling.
View application instructions.
Step #2: Get a Wyoming Sales and Use Tax License
The Wyoming Department of Revenue issues these licenses. The Sales and Use Tax License Application can be found online.
Step #3: Undergo Criminal Background Check
- Complete the Wyoming Vehicle Dealer License Background Check Supplemental Information Questionnaire.
- Contact your local law enforcement agency to have your fingerprints taken. Take both a state-non criminal and federal criminal fingerprint card.
- Include questionnaire, fingerprint cards, and a $39 processing fee made payable to the ‘Attorney General – DCI’ with your application.
Contact WYDOT Compliance & Investigation if you have questions regarding the background check requirement or forms – (307) 777-3815.
Worried about a previous felony on your record? Check out this post “Getting a Dealer License with a Felony”
Step #4: Submit Application
Submit your application, background check questionnaire, fingerprint cards, and fees to the address below:
ATTN: Motor Vehicle Services
5300 Bishop Blvd.
Cheyenne, WY 82009-3340
Be sure to include the annual license fee:
- Selling 12 or more vehicles/year: $100 fee
- Selling 12 or less vehicles/year: $25 fee
Step #5: Wait
The Wyoming Department of Transportation will review your WY Dealer License Application. If any blank, insufficient, or incorrect information is provided, your WY Dealer License Application will be returned to you.
Step #6: Purchase Wyoming Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond
The last step is to purchase a Wyoming Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond. A Wyoming Dealer Bond is a type of surety bond that promises you will follow all rules and regulations. If you fail to do so, someone can make a claim against your bond.
Wyoming has set the bond amount at $25,000.
The actual price you pay for the bond will be between $250 – $3,750. This is a one-time payment, not a monthly payment.
See what you’d pay for a bond. Get a free quote.
Curious to see what you’d pay for your Wyoming Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond? Try the Bond Cost Calculator, a free tool that generates quotes for your bond so you can compare prices before you buy.
Nervous about paying for your bond? We can help you finance.
Get free Wyoming Dealer Bond quotes!
Step #7: Submit Bond
Once you purchase your bond, send it to WYDOT and wait for your dealer license to come in the mail.
License Expiration and Renewal
Wyoming Vehicle Dealer Licenses are valid for one year. The effective and expiration dates of your license will be the same as the effective and expiration dates on the WY Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond you purchased.
You must renew your WY Dealer License each year to remain in compliance with the law.
View our FREE EBOOK: “The Ultimate Guide To Car Dealer Licensing”
How To Get An Auto Dealer Bond
The Surety Bond Claim Process For Car Dealers (And How To Avoid It)