Massachusetts Private Investigator License

massachusetts private investigator license

Starting a private investigator firm can be a very interesting endeavor, but before your puzzle solving can begin you must become registered by the state.  


You are required to have either 3 years of experience in professional investigation or 10 years of experience as a police officer.

Application Packet

You can download all of the various forms you will need at the Massachusetts Public Safety website. Make sure to include a check or money order of $550 payable to the Common Wealth of Massachusetts as your application fee.

 A unique requirement for the Massachusetts application is that you are required to have 3 people that live in your community, that are not related to you, attest that the information on your application is accurate and that you are a honest and moral person.  

Massachusetts does not grant licenses to any person that has ever been convicted of a felony in the United States.


If you wish to carry a firearm while on duty, you will need to apply seperately for a license to carry a firearm and pay an additional $100 for that license.

Private Detetective Association

The Licensed Private Detectives Association of Massachusetts offers many additional resources for members.

mass private detective bond

What is a Massachusetts Private Investigator Bond?

A surety bond is a sort of guarantee that you will conduct your investigations ethically and according to all the rules and regulations provided by the state. A bond can be purchased from a surety company, then if a client believes you acted inappropriately and files a claim on the bond the surety will investigate the claim. If the surety finds that the claim is vaild, the surety will make financial restitution. Of course, in the end you will be responsible to repay the surety for any damages.

How Much Will My Bond Cost?

In the state of Massachustetts the required bond amount for a private investigator is $5,000, but don’t worry this is not how much you will have to pay.

The price you pay for your bond is based on a percentage of the total amount of your bond. For example, if you need a $100,000 bond, you will not have to pay $100,000. Instead, you will pay a percentage of this amount, generally between 1-15%. Most individuals with a good credit score (over 700) can get their bond at a rate of 1% or less. If your credit isn’t as good, you’ll have to pay a higher rate.

Think you have what it takes to get private investigator license? Want to see what you would pay for your Massachusetts Private Investigator Bond? Surety Solutions offers free quotes from over 30 companies so that you can find the best price.

Get your free bond quotes

Related Posts:

How to Become a Private Investigator

Back To Top