oregon ccb license

It doesn’t matter if you work independently, with an organization or business, or in some other fashion. If you do any sort of work that involves contracting in a physical capacity and receive funds for the work that is completed, you’ll need an Oregon Contractors License.


Short on time? Jump straight to the tutorial on how to get your Oregon CCB License.

Want to see how much a Contractor License Bond would cost you? Get a FREE Contractor License Bond Quote.

Who Needs an Oregon Contractor License?

To determine if you need a license, decide if your career (or future career plan) fits into this description:

Do you buy homes, fix them up, and resell them?

Do you have a regular 9 to 5 job, but perform “handyman” type activities for pay in your spare time?

Do you get paid to perform any sort of construction activity that includes any one or more of the following:

  • roofing
  • siding
  • carpentry
  • painting
  • on-site appliance repair
  • concrete
  • heating and air conditioning
  • tree service
  • home inspections
  • electrical
  • plumbing
  • floor covering
  • land development
  • manufactured dwelling installations
  • any other construction or repair service?

If you can answer “yes” to any of these questions, then you need to become licensed with the Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB) and get an Oregon CCB License.

Work that does not need an Oregon CCB License includes:

  • gutter cleaning
  • power and pressure washing
  • debris/yard clean up
  • qualified real estate property managers managing a building under construction (learn more)
  • a “handyman” working on projects if all the work is less than $1,000 (learn more)

If you are unsure if you need an Oregon CCB License, view the Oregon CCB Who Needs a License page.

How to get an Oregon CCB License

Check out this tutorial on how to get your Oregon CCB License.

Before becoming licensed with the CCB, individuals must complete 16 hours of training. The training involves learning about specific business practices and the law. It also involves passing a state test called the Responsible Managing Individual.

From there, you’ll need to obtain and submit an Oregon Contractors License Bond (Oregon CCB Bond). If you choose a surety bond company like Surety Solutions, we can generate free quotes for you online so you can compare prices before you buy.

Learn how you can get your Contractor Bond for just $100. 

These bonds are part of our instant issue program. Get an INSTANT quote below.

OR Commercial CCB Bond Quote

– OR –

OR Residential CCB Bond Quote

Once you get your approved for your Oregon Contractors License, you are all set to work in Oregon. 

Your Oregon CCB License is valid for up to 24 months. You do not have to redo the entire process to renew your license once it expires, but there are some steps that need to be taken for renewal, which will be explained once you receive your initial license. 

Related Links:

How To Get Your Oregon CCB License And Surety Bond

How Much Does An Oregon Contractors License Cost?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Back To Top