The Nevada DMV – Occupational and Business Licensing licenses new Nevada Motor Vehicle Dealers. If you wish to secure a Nevada Dealer License, you will need to complete the following steps.
Individuals are allowed to sell vehicles without a Nevada Dealer License as long as those vehicles are titled in their name and used primarily for personal, family, or household use.
Not sure if you need a dealer license? Check out this post on selling cars without a license.
How to get a Nevada Dealer License
Step #1: Determine what kind of license you need
The main Nevada Car Dealer Licenses include:
- Dealer – sells vehicles to the public
- Distributor – sells new vehicles to other dealers
- Lesser – leases vehicles
- Manufacturer – manufacturers vehicles
- Rebuilder – reconstructs vehicles by adding, altering, or substitution of motor parts
There are a few other license types such as Broker, Body shop, Wrecker and salvage pool, or Vehicle transporter. These 4 licenses require a different licensing process. Click on the license types for more information.
If you’d like to view an entire packet for the main license types (dealer, distributor, lesser, manufacturer, rebuilder) view the licensing packet here.
Step #2: Complete an Application for Business License
Step #3: Complete other requirements
- Personal History Questionnaire
- DPS Civil Applicant Waiver
- Fingerprints – you must be fingerprinted by an authorized DMV representative or law enforcement agency.
- City or county business license
- Federal Identification Number
- 2 color photos of your place of business
Depending on how your dealership is structured and your license type, you might also need to include:
- Fictitious firm name filing
- Copy of Certificate of Incorporation and Corporate filing
- Dealer Franchise Certification (new motor vehicle dealers)
- Letter of confirmation from SAE Strategic Alliance notifying the applicant of their World Manufacture Identifier (WMI) assignment. Contact SAE at www.sae.org or 724 772-8511.
Step #4: Purchase a Nevada Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond
A Nevada Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond is not the same as insurance. A NV Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond is protection for your customers. It is a requirement before you can get licensed.
Depending on what type of vehicles you wish to sell, your bond amount will vary.
- Utility or boat trailers: $10,000 bond
- Motorcycles, horse trailers , or utility trailers weighing 3,501 or more : $50,000 bond
- All other vehicles: $100,000 bond
The price you pay for your bond is based on your personal credit. You could pay anywhere from 1-15% of the total bond amount. You can get a free quote to see what you would pay.
Step #5: Purchase liability insurance
Step #6: Pay licensing fees
The licensing fee is $126. There is also a $36.25 fingerprint processing fee for each set of fingerprints you include with your application.
Step #7: Submit paperwork
Submit your paperwork to one of the Nevada DMV – Occupational and Business Licensing Department offices.
Before you are approved for a dealer license, you will need to get your dealership location inspected by the Department.
Your business location should be within in the state, include a permanent enclosed building large enough to accommodate an office, and sufficient space to display one or more vehicles.
License Expiration and Renewal
Your Nevada Dealer License expires every year. To remain in compliance with the law, you will need to renew your dealer license annually.
The state of Nevada will send you a renewal notice before you license expiration date. You will be able to renew your license online.