In the “Peach State” any person, corporation, or partnership who sells used motor vehicles for retail or wholesale purposes must have a Georgia Dealer License (AKA: Georgia Used Car Dealer License.)
The general rule of thumb is that if you deal 5 or more used vehicles in a 12-month period, you must have a Georgia Used Car Dealer License.
Not sure if you need a dealer license? Check out this post on selling cars without a license.
Georgia Used Car Dealer License Period
Georgia Used Car Dealer Licenses are valid for two years, expiring on March 31 of even-numbered years.
Depending on when your GA Dealer License was issued, your initial licensing period might be for less than two years. The required Georgia Used Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond covers the same period.
How to get a Georgia Used Car Dealer License
Note: If you wish to become a used car wholesaler, the licensing steps are the same.
Step #1: Complete Georgia Used Car Dealer License Application
View the license packet.
Step #2: Attend a pre-licensing seminar
The seminar providers are E-Learning Concepts and GIADA.
- E-Learning Concepts, LLC – Call E-Learning Concepts: 678-672-8118
- Georgia Independent Automobile Dealers Assoc. (GIADA) – Call GIADA: 770-745-9650
Step #3: Provide an original certificate of insurance
Your certificate must include the policy number and the amount of limits or single limits. Make sure the insurance company writes your insurance policy on an Acord Form.
Additional information on the specifics of the insurance policy can be found on Step #4 of the application package.
Step #4: Establish location
- Meeting all location requirements (this is on Step #5 of the application package.)
- Provide photos of your business sign, building, and salesroom or sales office.
- Establish a permanent land-line telephone
An inspection of your business location will be conducted before you can be issued a Georgia used dealer license.
A common question people ask is “Can I operate a used car dealership at my residence?” The answer is taken directly from the Secretary of State website:
“It depends on your local zoning ordinances. Contact your city or county Planning & Zoning Office for this information. Be sure to ask if they’ll allow a permanent sign because if it is allowed by your local zoning, you must still meet the requirements of an “established place of business,” (view here: Established Place of Business).”
Step #5: Get a Sales Tax ID Number
Attach either your sales tax number or a copy of the sales tax application with your license packet.
Step #6: Secure a $35,000 Georgia Used Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond
Not sure how to get a Georgia Used Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond? Use this interactive tool to help you out.
You won’t have to pay $35,000 to secure your bond. You’ll only pay a small percentage of this amount. You will only need to pay one time for your bond, not monthly like other insurance.
You can see how much you’d pay by getting a free quote below:
Once you purchase your bond, it will be mailed to you by the surety bond company. Include the original bond with your license application.
Step #7: Submit a fingerprint-based criminal background check
You can do this through the Georgia Applicant Processing Services (GAPS)
There is a $52.75 processing fee.
Worried about a felony? Check out this post on “Getting a Dealer License With a Felony”
Step #8: Pay fees
The application fee is $170.
You can check the status of other fees on the Fee Schedule. Make checks payable to the “Used Motor Vehicle Dealer Board.”
Step #9: Mail
Mail your completed Georgia Auto Dealer License application, with supporting certificates, photos, cards, and fees, to the following:
Georgia State Board of Registration of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers
Used Motor Vehicle Dealers Division
237 Coliseum Dr.
Macon, GA 31217
Step #10: Wait
Allow up to 30 days for your license to be approved. It may be approved sooner if all your paperwork is complete.
If you are not approved, you should receive a deficiency letter.
For questions or concerns with the licensing process, call the Georgia Motor Vehicle Division at 478-207-2440.
License Expiration and Renewal
All licenses for used motor vehicle dealers renew every other year. Licenses expire on March 31 of even-numbered years (2018, 2020, 2022, etc).
While licenses are valid for two years, an initial license might be valid for a shorter time period, depending on when the license was issued.
The renewal fee is $150 if you renew on time. Late license renewal fees (received between April 1 and May 31 of the renewal year) are $250. If you fail to renew your license by May 31, you will need to pay a $420 reinstatement fee.
Renewal and reinstatement fees are non-refundable.