how to get oregon ccb license

In the state of Oregon, anyone who performs any construction activity involving improvements to real property must have an Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB) license and Oregon CCB surety bond.

Here are the 9 steps you need to take to get your Oregon CCB license and Oregon CCB surety bond. 

Want to see how much a Contractor License Bond would cost you? 

Get free OR Contractor Bond quotes

How to get an Oregon CCB License

To get an Oregon CCB License, you’ll need to:

  • Determine the types of structures you’ll work on
  • Complete pre-licensing training
  • File your business name
  • Purchase a CCB surety bond
  • Purchase insurance and workers compensation
  • Complete an application
  • Pay fees and submit paperwork

The exact steps with detailed instructions are listed below.

If you are not sure if you need a license, check the Who Needs a License page.

Step #1: Determine the type of structures you’ll work on

Contractors in Oregon must carry the proper endorsement for the type of structures they will work on. This endorsement chart can help you select the right endorsement for your work.

Step #2: Complete pre-licensing training

To obtain your Oregon CCB License, you will need to complete 16 hours of training on law and business practices and pass a state test. Information on required pre-licensing training can be found on the Oregon CCB website.

Step #3: File your business name

Regardless of what type of business you are starting, you will need to file your business name with the Oregon Secretary of State. You can file your name at the Secretary of State website. Or you can call 503-986-2200.

Step #4: Purchase an Oregon CCB Surety Bond

An Oregon CCB Surety Bond is a type of license and permit surety bond required when becoming licensed as an Oregon Contractor.

An Oregon CCB Surety Bond is not the same as insurance; rather, it is a protection for the state of Oregon.

An OR CCB Bond promises that you will follow all rules and regulations when conducting your work.

At Surety Solutions, our Oregon Contractor Bonds are part of our instant issue program and start at $100 per year.

OR Commercial CCB Bond Quote

OR Residential CCB Bond Quote

Oregon CCB Surety Bond Amounts

Residential Bonds:

  • Residential general contractor: $20,000
  • Residential specialty contractor: $15,000
  • Residential limited contractor: $10,000
  • Residential developer: $20,000
  • Home services contractor: $10,000
  • Residential locksmith services contractor: $10,000
  • Home inspector services contractor: $10,000
  • Home performance score contractor: $10,000

Commercial Bonds:

  • Commercial general contractor Level 1: $75,000
  • Commercial general contractor Level 2: $20,000
  • Commercial specialty contractor Level 1: $50,000
  • Commercial specialty contractor Level 2: $20,000
  • Commercial developer: $20,000

You will not need to pay the full bond amount to get bonded. 

At Surety Solutions, our Oregon Contractor Bonds are part of our instant issue program and start at $100 per year.

Get free OR Contractor Bond quotes

Step #5: Provide proof of general liability insurance

Instructions on how to get insurance can be found here.  Make sure your insurance policy names the Construction Contractors Board as the Certificate Holder.


Step #6: Obtain workers compensation insurance

If you are going to hire employees to work for you, you will need to obtain workers compensation insurance. For more information about workers compensation, taking to an insurance agent, visit the Oregon Workers’ Compensation Division website or call 503-947-7810Learn more about who is exempt and non-exempt here.

Step #7: Obtain other employer account numbers

You may need state and federal tax numbers. For information, contact the Oregon Department of Revenue at 503-378-4988 or the Internal Revenue Service at 1-800-356-4222.

Step #8: Complete an Oregon Contractors License Application

Step #9: Submit your application and paperwork

Submit your paperwork, proof of surety bond, and application to the Oregon CCB. Be sure to include a $250 licensing fee, which covers your license cost for 2 years.* 

*This fee is usually $325, but from July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2019, the fee will only be $250. More info here.

Related Posts

Surety Bonds: The Process, The People and the Price 

The Cost of Surety Bonds and Why There’s Such a Range

How Much Does An Oregon Contractors License Cost?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Back To Top