A Mississippi Auto Dealer License is a requirement for those who want to start their own auto dealership in the state of Mississippi.
Not sure if you need a dealer license? Check out this post on selling cars without a license.
How to get a Mississippi Car Dealer License
Please note this post is for dealers wishing to start a car dealership to sell new vehicles. If you wish to get a different license type (manufacturer, distributor, motorcycle dealer, etc) please make sure to check the requirements on the license application.
Looking for instructions for getting a used car dealer license? Read them here.
Step #1: Complete Mississippi Dealer License Application
You can do this by downloading the Mississippi Car Dealer License Application or by applying online.
If you have questions about any parts of the MS Dealer License Application, reach out to the Mississippi Motor Vehicle Commission at 601-987-3995.
Step #2: Other Requirements
Include the following with your Mississippi Motor Vehicle Dealer application:
- $100 application fee
- Salesperson application and fee (Application of License for Salesman of New Motor Vehicles)
- Biography of each principal/owner
- Copy of latest financial statement
- Sketch or pictures of business location
- Manufacturer’s area marketing analysis
All persons applying for a MS Motor Vehicle Dealer License are also required to complete the eight (8) hour educational seminar conducted by the Mississippi Independent Auto Dealers Association (MIADA).
Information on the class can be found here: Mississippi Pre-Licensing Training Class.
Step #3: Purchase a $25,000 Mississippi Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond
Not sure how to get a Mississippi Auto Dealer Bond? Use this interactive tool to help you out.
A Mississippi Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond is a type of surety bond that protects your customers. If your customers feel you are not running an ethical business, they can make a claim against your bond.
To get a surety bond, you will need to contact a surety bond company.
You will not need to pay the entire $25,000 to get bonded. You will pay anywhere from 1-15% of the bond amount (so $250 – $3,750). This is a one-time payment, not a monthly payment.
To see how much you’d pay, get a free quote below:
Get free Mississippi Car Dealer Bond Quotes
After you purchase your surety bond, it will be mailed to you.
Step #4: Submit Paperwork
Once you receive your surety bond in the mail, you are ready to submit your license application.
Send the completed Mississippi Dealer License Application, original surety bond, and other required forms to:
Mississippi Motor Vehicle Commission
1755 Lelia Drive, Suite 200
Jackson, MS 39216
Step #5: Wait
Wait on the Mississippi Motor Vehicle Commission to process your application and send you approval to be an official Mississippi car dealer.
Before you can be approved, your application will be reviewed by the Commission at their monthly meeting. Monthly meetings are scheduled for the 3rd Wednesday of each month. Make sure to submit your application paperwork before the monthly meeting to avoid having to wait another month to be reviewed.
License Expiration and Renewal
Mississippi dealer licenses are not valid forever. You must renew your license to remain in compliance with the law.
You can renew your license online.
View our FREE EBOOK: “The Ultimate Guide To Car Dealer Licensing”
How To Get An Auto Dealer Bond
Motor Vehicle Dealer License FAQ